top of page

I don't know about you, but I'm liking "21"

I worked my way through the list of compositions from this post, and I simply couldn't go past Andy Akiho's "21". I wasn't aware of any of his works before I stumbled upon the Quora page that became my resource, but Andy Akiho, from what I read online, has a really interesting musical background, firstly as a percussionist, then a steel pan performer, and then as a composer. He has a really interesting range of works, all of which have a strong rhythmic grounding:

In fact, this work "NO one to kNOW one" has become so popular that some American college marching bands have taken to performing it for their repertoire:

"21" struck me as an interesting work for a lot of reasons, but I'll just let you give it a listen first.

The cello rhythmic ostinato really tripped me out, and it took me a little while to get my head around what was happening. The first trick is that it's in 3/4, which sounds obvious but I think I'm so wired in to hearing dotted rhythms being played in 4/4 that it threw me off a little.

If you're someone that likes working these things out yourself, SPOILER ALERT:

** The basic rhythmic ostinato is 3 crotchets followed by 5 dotted quavers.** When you come back around to start the 3 crotchets again, they all fall one semiquaver before the beat because 5 dotted quavers = 5x3 semiquavers = 15 semiquavers, which is 3 more than the 12 semiquavers in a bar of 3/4, but one less than coming back in on the beat. Make sense?

Here's some notation for those of you who are more visual:

The 7 bar ostinato for "21"

I've added accents so that you can see each time the pattern restarts. It takes four cycles through the pattern in order to get back to the the top of the bar.

I'm sure there are lots of other really interesting things to analyse in this work, but I'm definitely going to find a way to include it in my program. There are so many good learning opportunities here!


Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page