top of page

Pulse Magnet Score Analysis


A few bars from the third movement of Pulse Magnet

So I'm currently working my way through a score analysis of the third movement of "Pulse Magnet" by Matthew Hindson. I thought I'd just post up some of the analysis that I've already done. Unfortunately Wix can't handle tables so I've just take a screenshot of some of the work I've done.

Just as a side note, even though I have issues with the "concepts" framework as the primary mode of musical analysis, I do think it has a helpful way of cutting through the internal biases that we all have towards analysing certain parts of music more than others. So I decided to use the concepts framework to help bring out some things that I would have missed otherwise. Also it clearly is relevant to the unit of work since students need to think along these lines as well.

Pitch

Pitch analysis

Duration

Dynamics and Expressive Techniques

Dynamics and Expressive Techniques

Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page