top of page

Website Building


A screenshot of my website

In a previous post, I explained my plan to build resources for students studying the blues. I decided this in part because this topic is extremely common in Year 7-8 music, and yet in my experience, it is very poorly taught. (Here comes the uni student with a saviour complex.) More on that later. (Edit: You can check out more of my reasoning for creating blues resources here.)

Now at the time of my last post, I had a few different thoughts about how I could create resources. One option I thought about was creating iBooks, like I did during Popular Music Studies last semester. As a class we learned how to use iBooks author to create interactive resources for students studying popular music, and the applications are quite broad for iBooks. I really like that you can imbed images, audio and movies, and also that you can have scrolling images and clickable images as well (e.g. an image of a score that you then click on and it plays the music).

The only problem with iBooks is a lack of universal applicability. Over August and September of this year, I undertook my first high school prac at a comprehensive high school that had 5 music teachers, 2 concert bands, 2 choirs, an orchestra, wind ensemble and 2 stage bands. Music was thriving in the school, and it was also situated in a very affluent part of Sydney and as a result the school was quite well resourced. But I never saw an iPad during my six weeks of prac. The school is planning on implementing BYOD from 2017, but in all likelihood, students will bring a huge range of devices to school, and many of them will not be compatible with iBooks.

And so I thought to myself, how can I create a wider audience for these resources? The obvious answer was to create something browser-based. I decided I would create a website in wordpress (as honestly, I haven't found my wix experience overly positive).

Making a Website with Wordpress

There are lots of websites, blogs and YouTube videos devoted to teaching you how to make blogs in wordpress.com. I actually ignored them all and just got straight into it. The process was simple at the very start, but then I had to get through the learning curve of design and menu systems to understand how wordpress words.

The first stage was choosing a layout, and wordpress has a lot of different options that all look great. I was after a design that had a menu up the top, because I thought that would create an attractive layout.

Layout options in the wordpress dashboard

I actually went with one layout for a little while, and then decided that I didn't really like it anymore, and thankfully wordpress allows you change your theme at any point. Once I settled on my theme, I set about making the home page look nice. As the resources were all about the blues, I chose some of my favourite musicians who play the blues and make a little collage of their photos (which of course were labelled as free to use and share in Google images #nocopyrightinfringement).

Art Tatum, Gary Clark Jr., John Mayer and Billie Holiday

Then it was just a matter of my welcome message, and menu options up the top. Menu choices ended up being a bit tricky, because although it was easy to create the links, when I hadn't actually linked them to anything, they would redirect to funny places, so I had to connect the skeleton of the website to the inside of it. Of course that involved having things on the inside. But that's another post.


Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page